7 Best Cyber Security Certifications to Kick Start Your Career

Working as a cyber security analyst can be stimulating, engaging, and exciting for anyone who loves technology. However, the process of landing a job in the cyber security industry is not for the faint of heart. The journey to becoming a cyber security analyst is one filled with hard work, dedication – and lots and lots of school.

In addition to earning a bachelor’s degree in computer science, computer engineering, or a related field, most cyber security professionals have certifications in their unique fields. There are many of these certification courses available today, but which ones will help you have a thriving career in cyber security?

Here are the certifications most likely to jumpstart your career as a cyber security professional.

Certified in Risk and Information System Control (CRISC)

One of the first certifications most cyber security professionals earn is the certification in risk and information system control (CRISC). This is a great certification for individuals who are relatively new to the cyber security industry, as it exposes and prepares these professionals to the real-world threats that could plague their organizations.

This certification will give you the knowledge you need to assess and identify risks – and how to implement security measures to protect against those risks. Whether you’re brand-new to the IT industry or you just want to brush up on the latest knowledge, a CRISC certification is always a benefit for your career.

CompTIA Security+

CompTIA Security+ is another certification that many IT professionals earn early in their career. This is a great certification for novices, as it provides you with a general foundation of knowledge for a variety of IT topics. Courses in this certification program include security policies, disaster recovery, encryption standards, and more.

However, it is important to note that this certification does take two years to complete. If you’re planning to get your CompTIA Security+ certification, be prepared to buckle in for the long haul!

GIAC Security Essentials (GSEC)

Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) is an organization that offers several technical certifications for professionals in the tech industry. Their security essentials certification, simply known as the GSEC, is an entry-level certification that anyone working in cyber security should attain if they eventually want a more “hands on” job.

To qualify for the GSEC, you need to have five years of working experience in the world of IT or cyber security. You also need to pass an exam that assess your skills in identifying network vulnerabilities and cyber-attacks, password management, cryptography fundamentals, and much more.

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

Cyber security analysts must be able to identify ways that hackers can exploit their networks to gain access or steal data. To do this well, the analyst must understand how the hacker thinks – and that is the very idea behind the certified ethical hacker (CEH) certification.

This certification teaches IT professionals how to “think like a hacker,” showing them current hacking techniques and ways they can identify vulnerabilities within a computer network. With this knowledge, cyber security professionals can stay one step ahead of hackers more easily – and therefore, they can better protect their company’s data.

GIAC Penetration Tester (GPEN)

In some ways, a penetration tester is like an ethical hacker. They both act “like hackers” to help spot vulnerabilities in a system, and they both use their findings to bolster the system and protect against cyber-attacks. However, a penetration tester accomplishes this by running tests (essentially attempted hacks) on a system.

The GPEN is a certification offered by the GIAC. This program teaches IT professionals how to plan various penetration tests, from password attacks to persistence attacks and exploitation. This is another great certification that cyber security analysts can use to protect their company against potential bad actors in the cybersphere.

Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The certified information security manager (CISM) is a top-tier credential for professionals in cyber security development. This certification program teaches candidates how to develop security programs, how to manage cyber-attack incidents, and other forms of security risk management.

As this is an expert-level certification, it should not be a surprise that candidates need at least five years of cyber security experience before they can sign up for this certification course. However, if you’ve been working in the IT field for a while and want to improve both your skills and your job prospects, this is a great certification choice for you.

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA)

Not all cyber security professionals are looking for hackers all the time. Some are more focused on examining and refining an organization’s IT infrastructure, helping the company develop a more robust and secure digital network. Cyber security workers who are interested in this type of work might be interested in becoming a certified information systems auditor, or CISA.

CISA certification teaches you the basics of information systems auditing – examining a company’s network and advising them on ways to manage vulnerabilities and improve security. This certification does require five years of work experience in the tech sector, but it is a great way to increase your knowledge on designing effective digital networks.

These certifications are the ticket to taking your career to the next level in the world of cyber security. And now, you can start your certification journey by visiting the cyber security course offerings at Legends of Tech! Check out our courses today to start advancing your career.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: